What are the new abuse categories and 6 principals of safeguarding? | QCS

What are the new abuse categories and 6 principals of safeguarding, and appropriate phone numbers?

Sheila Scott
Answered by Sheila Scott

Thank you for your question.

The Social Care Institute for Excellence (SCIE)  has a great deal of information about the 6 principles of safeguarding identified in the Care Act 2014 on their website.


The six principles are:

·         Empowerment

People being supported and encouraged to make their own decisions and informed consent.

·         Prevention

It is better to act before harm occurs.

·         Proportionality

The least intrusive response appropriate to the risk presented.

·         Protection

Support and representation for those in greatest need.

·         Partnership

Local solutions through services working with their communities. Communities have a part to play in preventing, detecting and reporting neglect and abuse.

·         Accountability

Accountability and transparency in safeguarding practice.

SCIE’s website has useful video clips and briefing documents too which you can download for training purposes.

The Act also set out clearly the responsibility of Councils as lead organisation locally in coordinating all matters relating to Safeguarding of Adults.

I cannot therefore tell you who you should contact locally for further information. You should visit your local Councils website for that information.

Best wishes.


About Sheila Scott

Sheila Scott OBE from National Care Association (NCA). Care is Sheila’s life; she possesses a strong command of the issues facing the care sector informed by her long career as a nursing professional, the owner and manager of a care business and as a leader in the care sector. 3. Read more

Related Questions